- Q2A version: 1.8.x
Q2A Close My Account is a Question2Answer plugin that allows registered users to close and eventually delete their owns accounts without asking administrator users for it.
Users can reopen their accounts before the deletion date if they decided to; otherwise, user accounts will be deleted permanently:
- User will be able to log in until the account is actually deleted
- Handle will be replaced with a placeholder, such as
user1234, on posts
- Creating/editing posts will be disabled
- Sending/receiving wall posts and private messages will be disabled
- Email notifications will be disabled
- Administrators are still able to hide all posts from closed/deleted users
NOTE: Administrator accounts are excluded by default since they aren’t subject to deletion.
Warning: It works only on brand-new Question2Answer installations. If your website is a highly customized one, you might use it only as a reference to know what changes are needed.
- Unpack the archive into the directory qa-plugins
- Go to ‘Admin’ > ‘Plugins’ and run the database initialization process
- Set up the option (see below) under Admin > Plugins > Q2A Close My Account
- Set up a cron job that executes the script in
q2a-close-my-account/delete-closed-accounts.php. If you moved this file to another directory, you’d have to modify the directory in line 24 accordingly
This program is distributed in the hope that it will be useful, but WITHOUT ANY WARRANTY; without even the implied warranty of MERCHANTABILITY or FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE. See the GNU General Public License for more details.
Placeholder used for closed/deleted users: When accounts are closed/deleted, their handle on posts are replaced with a phrase made up of this placeholder concatenated with the account id, like this:
Let users reopen their account in: Set the period of time in days for users to reopen their accounts; after that their account will be deleted. It’s
Frequently Ask Questions
I’ve installed your plugin in a brand-new Q2A installation but I don’t see any option for deleting accounts, where’s it?
It appears under ‘My account’ page. Please go to your user’s profile and then click on Edit my Account button. It’s at the bottom of the page in the section Close my account
I’ve already clicked on Edit my Account but I still don’t see any option.
The option for deleting your account is, as I said in the NOTE: above, available only for regular accounts. Please log-in as a regular user and try again.
This plugin is under GNU GPLv3. See LICENSE for details.
How to download
Please send me a private message in the Question2Answer forum for more information.